Home is everywhere

img_4246

I took a thousand passionate steps,
small and quick,
breathless in my eagerness to arrive home.

The further I go, the stranger it gets
this landscape that mirrors home
everywhere.

©Lipstickandmiracles 2016 

img_4249

If we were having coffee together this weekend, you would probably sense a certain caginess about me. I probably won’t be able to hold your gaze like I normally would. I’d probably touch my hair a lot, fiddle with my lemon-patterned top and my red coffee cup.Don’t worry it’s not you. It’s me and my sense of not belonging in this place. I would have told you that when I spend time in noisy, crowded places like this oozy cafe filled with millennials, I feel it acutely. Displaced, estranged from this city and its people (ok, that may be a tad dramatic). Beautiful as it may be, laden with memories and childhood ties, it doesn’t feel like home. Nowhere feels like home.

I imagine that you would have consoled me with a generous slice of black forest cake and these wise words “before nation, identity and tribe, there is Spirit. And if one were on such a journey, led of Spirit, everywhere is home and every soul is a friend”.

Inspired by this #weekendcoffeeshare and today’s Daily Prompt – Passionate.

Author: lipstick&miracles

A poet-writer-dreamer who wants to share her collection of bright and quiet miracles strung together through travel, reading, writing, doodling and the rest of it. Shapes and words that make her heart skip a beat... and maybe yours too?

Leave a Reply

