Feeding the hounds

I’ve always wanted to be a writer-poet. There, I said it!

Writer. Poet. The words stop me in my tracks, make my breath catch tight in that place right under the collar bones. A torrent of thoughts – how I dreamed and failed at being a writer, how dare I come even close to insinuating that I could be one, how misguided I was to choose the path of corporate ambitions knowing full well it wasn’t my soul’s calling nor was the option “as just as fair” and who would want to read any of this crap anyway? … you get the drift.

But you know what? The stories refused to go away! They circled inside me like hungry hounds, waiting to be fed and set free. And like hungry animals fed up of being ignored, they made sure to disrupt my comfortable life with snatches of story and verse so compelling it made my heart ache to ignore them.

Summer Veil by Finnish artist Päivi Somppi.
Summer Veil by Finnish artist Päivi Somppi ~ I’ve had this card on my vision board for many years… I love that the hound (at least that’s what I think the creature is) has delicate butterfly wings and is leaving a trail of butterflies in his wake, his own transformation and awakening lighting up the world.

So decades after leaving behind that bolder version of me who dreamt of embracing the world with her words, I’m starting on this journey to re-find (fr. retrouver) her. The first step was to write. Just write. And also have fun. So the best way to combine the two was to start this blog.

Now I’d like to grow  up with this blog as a poet (argh!) and thankfully, WordPress is super supportive of new bloggers and offers all kinds of free courses!

Day 1 task of the Branding & Growth course is to set three goals so here goes:

  1. Reach 100 followers by December 2016 (someone please tell me if this is crazy)
  2. Create a body of work for (self)publication
  3. Inspire someone out there to pursue a dream 🙂

bloggingbranding

 

Author: lipstick&miracles

A poet-writer-dreamer who wants to share her collection of bright and quiet miracles strung together through travel, reading, writing, doodling and the rest of it. Shapes and words that make her heart skip a beat... and maybe yours too?

4 thoughts on “Feeding the hounds”

  1. I also wanted to write, actually at a very young age maybe 10 or 11 years old. Being young and not having any mentor, it did not happen until years (decades) later and not like I expected. Anyway, WordPress is a great way to “test the waters” and “put yourself on paper.” Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the encouraging words and I’m inspired to hear that you found a way to honour that desire to be a writer. I’m constantly reminded that the Universe answers in different and sometimes unexpected ways, but it answers, always 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

