I learned from my mother

8 May is Mother’s Day in my part of the world so I want to celebrate my mum.
We have a complicated relationship. But I’m grateful for her.
Happy Mother’s Day to all mums out there – what a tough and beautiful job you have.

page-0

I learned from my mother how to draw cats with 2 circles, 2 tiny triangles, 4 lines for whiskers and 1 curly one for the tail. She drew those cats and a table to teach me the concepts of “under” and “above”, knowing I would pay attention if cats were involved.

I learned from my mother what pretty looked like, carefully drawn eyes and red lips, the biggest, shiniest jewels and perfume that floated upon everything that dared to come near.

I learned from my mother how to love to read, to always be surrounded by books, drift off to sleep with a story dancing in my head, savouring the worlds from carefully crafted words.

I learned from my mother how to count calories, eat broiled everything from beans to chicken breast, to hate that and eat whatever I want, to coat stress or hurt with chocolates and puffs, to wheel and deal emotions through spoonfuls of soup.

I learnt from my mother how to let go of very bad things that could sometimes happen to ingenuous people and find respite in beaded bookmarks, pickled ginger or winning this afternoon’s Rummy-o.

A few months ago, I did a raw, fascinating writing workshop by Laurie Wagner. One of our assignments was to write a piece from the jump-off point “I learned from my mother how to” which is being shared here. 

 

 

Author: lipstick&miracles

A poet-writer-dreamer who wants to share her collection of bright and quiet miracles strung together through travel, reading, writing, doodling and the rest of it. Shapes and words that make her heart skip a beat... and maybe yours too?

2 thoughts on “I learned from my mother”

  1. I like this piece because you started off writing that you and your Mum have a complicated relationship. Then you jumped off with all the things you have learned from your Mum. In my opinion, you mentioned things that will carry your through life. I didn’t get the impression that you have felt a negative impact from the things you’ve learned, so how complicated is your relationship with your Mum really???

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you sparkyjen for reading my post and leaving a comment! This was probably the first time I wrote about my mum – it’s a hard thing for me to do – so your comment means the world to me! 🙂 You’re right that I wanted to focus on the positives because I believe that no matter how bad or complicated any relationship is, we can always learn something good. Hope to see you again soon.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

